The B&B Cigar Club

It's not a club at all but an experience and a mindset that is centralized on one common theme: the enjoyment of a good cigar.

  • Become a member. Join CRA Today!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to the B&B Cigar Club blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

  • wordpress com stats

Pure Gold: Davidoff Puro d’Oro Sublimes

Posted by dabyrdman33 on August 5, 2010

I know I am a day late and definitely a dollar short, but that has never stopped me and will not stop me today from reviewing my latest find. Let me preface this review by saying that we have all longed for a cigar that we could squeeze in during lunch, a short break at work, or any other period where we’re short on time but we want the flavor and satisfaction of a “full-size” cigar. In the never-ending quest to find the perfect short smoke, I have stumbled upon the Davidoff Puro d’Oro Sublimes. These cigars come packaged in a paper-covered box containing bundles of 25 tied with a silk ribbon. According to the Davidoff website, this packaging is a tribute to the packaging displayed in the 1940s. The Puro d’Oros come in three other vitolas besides the Sublimes; the Magnificos (Robusto), Notables (Corona Gorda), and Deliciosos (Corona). Since I am short on time today, let’s get right to the review.

Davidoff Puro d’Oro Sublimes


MSRP: $9.50 plus taxes

Vitola: Petit Panetela

Size: 38 x 4 ½”

Wrapper: Dominican Davidoff Yamasa™

Binder: Dominican

Filler: Dominican

Appearance: The Sublime has a really nice pigtail cap with a golden brown wrapper. There is only one noticeable vein but other than that no blemishes or imperfections. The band on the foot is gold and embossed with the name of the vitola, in this case Sublimes.

Pre-light: The wrapper smells of sweet tobacco and upon removing the pigtail, the cold draw produces flavors of tea, grass, and more sweet tobacco.

1st half: Since this is a short smoke, it doesn’t make much since to try to break it into thirds so I’ll present it as two halves. Upon lighting the cigar, the first noticeable quality is that the cigar does not produce much resting smoke. Just a light stream that keeps your attention to let you know that it is still burning. The first few puffs give me a “mixed combo” of sweet tobacco early into exhaling the smoke and coffee on the finish. The finish is longer than I expected when I selected this cigar and already I am beginning to think that I have underestimated this experience. There is a slight peppery spice tinge on the retrohale that is very enjoyable and lets me know that this cigar is not “mild” or boring by any stretch of the imagination. The ash is fairly light in color, almost white, with some flecks of black and gray sprinkled throughout. The ash manages to hold firm for the first ½” to ¾” which isn’t bad since the ring gauge is small and the overall length of the cigar is fairly short. The body in the early going is what I would consider medium with the strength dialed down just a bit in the mild-medium range. The burn line is impeccable with no real waviness and certainly no need for touch-ups. The cigar so far is very flavorful, yet not overpowering and while the finish is long it does not become stagnant on the palate. Nearing the halfway point, the sweet tobacco takes a backseat to more of a sweet sort of tea flavor which is very good and a welcome change of pace.

2nd half: Just past the halfway point and the burn is starting to go wayward; however, given the flavors I can’t say that I would downgrade it. The tea flavor trades back-and-forth with the sweet tobacco from the initial puffs. The ash is becoming somewhat flaky, but certainly not messy. This particular cigar is not typical of the other Sublimes that I have enjoyed over the last two weeks, so again no negative points for the ash on this one. Toward the end, the body is creeping into what some might consider a full range. I consider it a medium-full, but with flavors like pepper, wood, and leather I can see where it might be considered full to some. The strength has also kicked up a notch and is now in the medium-full range. Believe it or not, I am actually getting a slight nicotine buzz which is always a plus in my book. After about 55 minutes of burning, it’s time to put this one down.

Final thoughts: Given the price point, this “short smoke” cost more than a majority of my regular rotation full-size cigars. The quality of construction and burn coupled with the overall flavor complexity makes the price well worth it. I’m not sold on the idea of this being a short smoke. Having smoked this cigar in a 30-40 minute time span, I found that it burns hotter and some of the flavor is lost in the haste to finish. Taking my time to savor this little cigar for almost an hour really allows the flavors and complexity to come through along with keeping the burn cool enough to smoke it down to the smallest of nubs. This little cigar is definitely meant to be savored and not just smoked. I definitely feel that it is a certified winner and while I probably won’t be able to set aside the funds for a box, I will definitely keep enough on hand for my “short smoke” occasions. I’m definitely curious to try the other vitolas to see how they compare. I give it a solid 4.5 of 5 on my “scale”. Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Until next time, fly as high as your smoke will let you.

-DaByrdman-

6 Responses to “Pure Gold: Davidoff Puro d’Oro Sublimes”

  1. Man, I’ve been dying to get a hold of one of those, unfortunately, no Davidoff authorized merchants close to us, and they want us to carry about 10k of merch just to sell their cigars….

    Oh well, nice review, now I’m really jonesing to try one of those damn things!

    • Thanks Jeff. I always steered clear of Davidoffs because they are characterized as really mild smokes and prohibitively expensive; however, this one certainly was outside of that mold. If the other sizes are anything like the petit panetela, they will become regular rotation cigars for me as well.

  2. thepeoplechamp82 said

    Awesome review…I remember when you found them at OVTC! Good to know it’s not the typical mild Davidoff…may have to go to OVTC and get one to have for myself!

  3. Lee said

    For me, the real standout in that line is the Notables.
    What’s that 2nd picture of? Anything?

    • Thanks for the comment. I need to try the Notables as well. As for the 2nd picture, blame it on technical difficulties. It was a shot of the foot of the cigar. I think the browser cut it off. It does show up in mobile view.

Leave a Reply

 
