The B&B Cigar Club

It's not a club at all but an experience and a mindset that is centralized on one common theme: the enjoyment of a good cigar.

  • Become a member. Join CRA Today!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to the B&B Cigar Club blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,723 other followers

  • wordpress com stats

JULIUS CAESER

Posted by PDB_BANDB on June 29, 2012

Hello to the B & B faithful,
 
Thank you for stopping in to check out the latest cigar review.
Today I am smoking  the Julius Caeser by Diamond Crown.
I received this cigar from a recent Diamond Crown event at the Tinder Box Cigar and Tobacco store (www.tinderboxwaldorf.com)  in Waldorf Md.
 
Critical’s,
Manufacturer- Diamond Crown Cigars 
Wrapper- Ecuador, Havana-seed
Binder- Dominican Republic
Filler- Carribbean Basin, Central America. Aged for 5 years. 
Size- 6.0 x 52
 Construction is good. No major issues. It does have a minor split at the foot of the cigar but this shouldn’t cause any problems.
 
I Cut the tip with my Xikar Room101 cutter, which gives a clean-cut. 
On the dry pull I’m getting a little sweet notes from the wrapper and a little hints of oat. 
Before I proceed to light the Julius Caeser with my Lotus Torch Lighter I take a sip of my drink of choice for this cigar, Ron Zacapa Xo Gran Reserva Especial. 
 
First third- not getting much of any flavor just a little hint of oat. The burn is very good with plenty of smoke on the retro hale. The ash is gray with no flaking and holding strong. I hope it starts to give me more flavor as I continue to smoke.
 
Second Third- Into the second third of this cigar and I notice a little fraying in the wrapper. Don’t think it will effect the smoke, but we’ll see. The flavor has changed to just tobacco and nothing else. The burn is still going strong and the ash is holding on very good. But I am really looking for something to happen with the flavor profile.
 
Final Third- As this JC is coming to a close nothing has changed. Still no other flavor than tobacco. The ash is still strong and still giving off plenty of smoke. 
 
Final Thoughts-This JC didn’t give much to admire on the flavor profile or the strength side. The construction was the best part of this cigar. The ash did hold strong and give off plenty of smoke and the burn was even all the way through. The strength and the flavor for the Julius Caeser is very mild. Sorry to say, but I didn’t get any of those bold, rich distinctive flavors that the web site (WWW.DIAMONDCROWN.COM) says you should get. 
Using WWW.YOURCIGARRATINGS.COM to rate the Julius Caeser and it comes back with a rating of 54.
 
Smoke time- 45-60 min. 
 
Thanks for taking the time for reading my opinion of this cigar. 
 
Happy Smokin. 
4 Responses to “JULIUS CAESER”

  1. Great review bro! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Keith said

    Thanks for the review. Gave me some insight into what to look for in a good cigar. Next time I will pay attention to the flavor profiles.

Leave a Reply

 
